Financial Aid for Veterans (hazlewood exemption)
exemptions for texas veterans
To provide an education benefit to honorably discharged or separated Texas veterans and their dependent children and spouses.
To use Hazlewood benefits, you must complete an application/release form. Please choose the appropriate form from below:
Texas Hazlewood Act Exemption Application
Texas Hazlewood Act Exemption Application for Continued Enrollment
Texas Hazlewood Act Exemption Initial Eligibility Requirements
Texas Hazlewood Act Exemption Documentation Checklist
Revocation of Previously Assigned Texas Hazlewood Act Exemption Hours
Who can apply?
- Who, at the time of entry in to the US Armed forces:
- Are Texas Residents
- Designated Texas as their Home of Record
- Entered the service in Texas
Have served at least 181 days of active military duty, as indicated as "net active service" (the sum of 12(c) and 12(d)) on the DD214)
Have received an honorable discharge or separation or a general discharge under honorable conditions
Have no federal veteran's education benefits, or have federal veterans education benefits dedicated to the payment of tuition and fees only; such as Chapter 33, for term or semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood benefits (Pell and SEOG are not relevant)
Are not in default on a federal education loan or a student loan made or guaranteed by the State of Texas; and
Enroll in classes for which the college receives tax support (i.e., a course that does not depend solely on student tuition and fees to cover its costs),
Children and Spouses:
The benefit may not be used for correspondence courses unless the courses are part of the student's degree plan.
Transferability of Benefits (Legacy Program) (NEW!!)
Eligible veterans may assign unused hours of exemption eligibility to a child under certain conditions. To be eligible, the child must:
- Be a Texas resident,
- Be the biological child, stepchild, adopted child, or claimed as a dependent in the current or previous tax year,
- Be 25 years or younger on the first day of the semester or term for which the exemption is claimed (unless granted an extension due to a qualifying illness or debilitating condition), and
- Make satisfactory academic progress in a degree, certificate, or continuing education program as determined by the institution.
If a child to whom hours have been delegated fails to use all of the assigned hours, a veteran may re-assign the unused hours that are available to another dependent child. Veterans' spouses are not eligible to receive a transfer of unused hours.
How much can be awarded?
Eligible veterans, their children and spouses may receive an exemption from the payment of all tuition, dues, fees, and other required charges, including fees for correspondence courses, but excluding deposit fees, student service fees, and any fees or charges for books, lodging, board, or clothing for up to 150 semester credit hours.
How can I apply?
Provide the financial aid office proof from the Department of Defense about your military service and nature of discharge(DD214). You must also provide proof of eligibility for GI/Montgomery benefits by requesting a letter from the VA office in Muskogee, OK (call 888-442-4551). Contact your college financial aid office regarding your status on prior federal student loans made or guaranteed by the State of Texas. You must also complete the appropriate application (see links above) and submit it to the college financial aid office. For additional information please contact the financial aid office or visit the website http://www.collegeforalltexans.com.
- Content Author ewalker