Galveston College's Hunt Library is a member of TexShare, "a statewide consortium of academic libraries, public libraries, and libraries of clinical medicine administered by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission". As a member of the consortium, the Hunt Library makes its resources available to Galveston area residents and TexShare cardholders from across the state.
TexShare POLICIES AND PROCEDURES
Individuals may apply for a TexShare card at the Hunt Library Circulation Desk or their local participating TexShare library. A photo ID with a current address is required. Once you have a TexasShare card, you will need to present both it and a photo ID in order to check out materials.
Materials may be checked out whenever the Library is open. Borrowing privileges are for 1 semester. Borrowing privileges may be renewedat the beginning of each new semester.
Circulating materials may be checked out for 2 weeks. There is a limit of 3 books that can be checked out at any one time. Only circulating books can be checked out. Non-circulating materials that cannot be checked out include reference items, videos, microfilm, oversize books and reserves. All books are due back at the end of the semester and cannot be renewed past that date. Individuals will be blocked from further checkout if materials are not returned.
Individuals may renew materials in person, by phone (409) 944-1240, or e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org. Items may be renewed a maximum of 2 times, and items may not be renewed past the last due date at the end of the semester.
Books should be returned to Galveston College in person or by first class mail to the following address:
Overdue notices are mailed to the mailing address on file. Individuals are responsible for notifying the library of address changes.
We will phone or email patrons when someone else has requested a book. The individual is expected to return the book immediately and will be barred from further privileges until the book is returned.
FINES AND FEES:
Fines are $.05 per day per book.
Books are considered lost after 1 year from the due date. We charge for the cost of the books, any overdue charges, plus a $5.00 processing fee per lost book.
Checks for fines should be made out to Galveston College. Individuals may send checks by mail to the address on this form or in person. Individuals will not be allowed to check out additional materials until fines and lost books are paid.
GALVESTON COLLEGE LIAISON FOR TEXSHARE:
Dr. Alan Uyehara
Dean, Learning Resources and Workforce Education
Galveston College Library
Last Updated: November 7, 2006