ASSOCIATE DEGREE Nursing

The Associate Degree Nursing Program is approved by the Texas Board of Nursing and accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN). Information regarding the program can be obtained from ACEN at 3343 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 500, Atlanta, GA 30326, (404) 975-5000, http://www.acenursing.org/.

Nursing is a service to individuals, to families and to the community of man. The individual nurse has scientifically based competencies and skills to assist people, sick or well, to cope with their health needs. Nursing is practiced in conjunction with other disciplines of the health care team.

VOCATIONAL Nursing

The primary role of the licensed vocational nurse is to provide nursing care in structured health care settings, under the direction of a registered nurse or licensed physician, for clients experiencing common, well-defined problems with predictable outcomes. The graduate is eligible to take the NCLEX-PN licensure examination. The program is designed to be completed within one calendar year. The curriculum is based on sequential learning; therefore, a student must have a grade of “C” or better in all courses to progress to the next sequence of VNSG courses.  The Vocational Nursing Program is approved by the Texas Board of Nursing.

 

Hours:

Department Hours:

Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 5:00pm

Summer Hours (mid May - mid August):

Monday - Thursday: 7:30am - 6:00pm

 

Staff Members:

Elaine Renola

 

Christa Staub

Director of Nursing

 

Nursing Administrative Assistant

409-944-1387 or erenola@gc.edu

 

409-944-1396 or cstaub@gc.edu

 

Faculty members (full time):

Deborah Bastien

 

Pamela Britton

2nd Year ADN Coordinator

 

VN Coordinator

409-944-1225 or dbastien@gc.edu

 

409-944-1386 or pbritton@gc.edu

 

 

 

 Jeff Eubank    Shelia Fields
 ADN/VN Faculty    ADN Faculty
 409-944-1379 or jeubank@gc.edu    409-944-1383 or sfields@gc.edu 
     
Joanne Gongora

 

Patricia Perry

ADN Faculty

 

ADN Faculty

409-944-1382 or jgongora@gc.edu

 

409-944-1374 or pperry@gc.edu

 

 

 

Joan Moss

 

Dr. Judith Schmidt

ADN/VN Faculty

 

ADN Faculty

409-944-1372 or jmoss@gc.edu

 

409-944-1381 or jschmidt@gc.edu

 

 

 

Dr. Susan Shea

 

Mary Anna Thomas

1st Year ADN Coordinator

 

ADN Facutly

409-944-1385 or sshea@gc.edu

 

409-944-1382 or mthomas@gc.edu

 

 

 

Arlinda Washington

 

 

ADN Faculty/Hall Professor

 

 

409-944-1373 or awashing@gc.edu

 

 

 

faculty members (Adjunct):

George Harbeson

 

Sharon Hellmann

VN Adjunct Faculty

 

ADN Adjunct Faculty

409-944-1377 or gharbeso@gc.edu

 

409-944-1380 or shellman@gc.edu

 

 

 

Judy Kirkpatrick

 

Joan Mader

ADN Adjunct Faculty

 

ADN Adjunct Faculty

409-944-1282 or jkirkpat@gc.edu

 

409-944-1380 or jmader@gc.edu

 

 

 

Jennifer Marriott

 

Dr. Dwayne More

ADN Adjunct Faculty

 

ADN Adjunct Faculty

409-944-1380 or jmarriot@gc.edu

 

409-944-1380 or dmore@gc.edu

 

 

 

Rebekah Penton

 

Carol Reyes

ADN Adjunct Faculty

 

ADN Adjunct Faculty

409-944-1380 or rpenton@gc.edu

 

409-944-1380 or creyes@gc.edu

Updated 2/5/2014 - Content Author cstaub