Board of Regents Appoint Presidential Search Advisory Committee


Board of Regents Appoint Presidential Search Advisory Committee

The Board of Regents of the Galveston Community College District held their regular monthly meeting Wednesday night taking action to appoint a fifteen member Presidential Search Advisory Committee. In December the Regents approved a contract for consultant services with Dr. Bob Barringer of Gold Hill Associates of Chapel Hill, North Carolina, to conduct the nationwide search for a new community college president at Galveston College.

Dr Barringer, a retired community college president, has used his firm to conduct eighty-one successful presidential searches across the United States. Barringer’s firm will use the fifteen member Presidential Search Advisory Committee to review applications and recommend five or more finalists for the Board of Regents interviewing process toward the Regents selection of a top candidate.

The 2007 Presidential Search Advisory Committee for Galveston College consists of Galveston citizens Tonka Lane, community volunteer; Melvin Williams, UTMB Director of Equal Opportunity and Diversity and Foundation board member; Rabbi Jimmy Kessler, adjunct faculty and rabbi to Temple B”Nai Israel; Roland Bassett, local attorney and former Regent; Susan Broll, Galveston College Foundation Board Chairperson; Ray Lewis, Jr., UTMB’s Associate Dean for Student Affairs; Brian Maxwell, Galveston County Projects Director; Albert Shannon, Chief Executive Officer of Frost Bank and Foundation board member; Don Davison, Assistant Professor of Accounting and incoming President of the Faculty Senate at Galveston College; Michael Berberich, Instructor of English and past President of the Faculty Senate; Dr. Gaynelle Hayes, Vice President of Administration; Pamela Britton, Vocational Nursing Instructor and Secretary Faculty Senate; Brenna Molen, Galveston College student representative; Judge Roy Quintanilla, County Court Judge and former Regent and Theron Waddell, Professor of Government.

The committee’s work is expected to continue through May 2007 with appointment of a new president by the College Regents by July 2007.